WHY ROMANTICIZING MENTAL ILLNESS IS HARMFUL

Romanticizing mental health issues is seen as a somewhat “cool” thing these days, but from someone that lives a life void of ‘normalcy’ due to the effects of mental health issues, I wanted to speak out. People with these issues wish they didn’t have to admit they had them, so hearing others say things such as “I’m so nervous, I have social anxiety”, or “I’m so bipolar today” is extremely painful.

Just like glamorizing a physical issue such as cancer, it’s simply in bad taste to spin a story that you have an issue that you don’t, to make yourself seem unique or more interesting – there are plenty of qualities that already make you unique. 🙂 What pretending does is damage the reputations of those who are suffering when we already aren’t taken very seriously.

I think about my issues every.single.day. because they affect me 24/7. I can’t conveniently “turn them off”. How I wish I could, because I would turn them off forever…

Mental illness is real. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

Read my OCD post here for more information regarding my struggles with OCD. 

-tired mind typing fingers

Photo via Pixabay

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

5 thoughts on “WHY ROMANTICIZING MENTAL ILLNESS IS HARMFUL”

  1. What’s so frustrating is when someone claims they have anxiety because they are worried about a test or a job interview. What they don’t understand is that people who have “anxiety” are anxious all the time! Not just for one event or another. There’s a light at the end of the tunnel with situational anxiety. How I wish I could stop being anxious for one single day, much less have my anxiety end altogether. I’d get brain surgery if they could destroy that part of my brain to free me from anxiety. My social anxiety is an extension of this and is so bad that I have to be medicated in crowds and feel exhausted after any type of socializing, even among my family.

    I was thrilled to get a diagnosis after so many years of suffering without understanding why. I actually went in to my regular doctor for chronic heart palpitations and tension headaches. I was referred to a psychiatrist after the doctor asked me a battery of questions that I’d never thought to put together on my own. I thought there would be a cure on the horizon, but that was a naive view. I’m still struggling, but at least now I have a name for it.

    To be honest, I’m glad that people are talking about it, because it does make it easier for me to admit it since the stigma isn’t as bad as it used to be. It does irritate me that some people take these issues so lightly, rather than understanding the terrible impact they have on a person’s life, but that’s why I share my story with others when that happens so that they can understand how bad it really is. It’s not anxiety over a specific event. It’s a daily grind, from the moment I wake up, until the moment I go to sleep, stressing over nothing. Because I’m a perfectionist on top of that, I can’t take satisfaction in small achievements (or any achievements) which is another (apparently related) condition. I completely understand the 24/7 thinking about it. It is an every minute of every day problem and I hope there will someday be a solution that actually works without medication loaded with side effects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

