PAIN RANT

Things have sort of calmed down for the meantime in regards to appointments and tests, but I’m currently in an overwhelmed state of mind.

I’m planning (and hoping) to have a procedure done called a Superior Hypogastric Plexus Block, where a needle will be inserted into my back to “reset” one of my nerves to see if it will reduce or even completely get rid of my chronic pain from Adenomyosis (don’t quote me on that… I do my best.) I’m not sure when I can have it done, or the logistics of it all yet, but it’s possibly the next step in my journey. Possibly.

I’m hopeless about this working, though. My doctor can repeat the procedure a couple more times if I don’t find relief, and after that, I don’t really know what to do… I mean, I know the options I have so far, which are: a procedure called a Presacral Neurectomy, where the presacral nerve is actually snipped surgically; a partial hysterectomy; or a device implanted that will help reduce the pain. All of my options don’t sound great to me (and how could they?), so I’m desperately hoping the injection will work the first time, or even the second or third…

And even after all of this is said and done and the injection did indeed work, it’s possible I’d need to have the injection redone every now and then which feels somewhat anxiety-provoking. The idea of a partial hysterectomy honestly sounds the best in my head in terms of “getting it taken care of” — but, I know it’s probably the most risky in terms of side effects.

Chronic pain, can you just like, go away? On your own? This is getting ridiculous.

-tmtf

Photo via Pixabay

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

