EDITING… THE TEDIOUS TASK

The progress of my novel so far is… well, better than when I began blogging a few months ago.

Apparently my novel has a mind of it’s own, or perhaps it’s just my mind lacking proper skill and determination.

The toughest part for me has been the editing. Oh, the editing… I’ve been editing the thing for over a year. A year! I know, I know. Writing takes time. But a year is just so long if you think about it.

When I say editing, I’m mostly referring to re-writing and taking out chunks altogether that I’ve decided I no longer want to keep as part of the story. Editing little bits, grammar, etc. is the least of my worries right now, for finishing the actual story is the most important part — right?

I didn’t realize how hard this all would be. I had the story idea and a mountain of motivation sitting in my heart/brain when I began this novel. Slowly but surely, it’s coming along…

I guess I need some more patience. πŸ™‚

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by jill111

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

2 thoughts on “EDITING… THE TEDIOUS TASK”

  1. Sounds like you’re in the revision phase. It is a difficult and tedious task, and certainly not my favorite part of writing, but it’s good that you’re taking the time to do it. It makes such a difference in the end product when you take such care to get it right. Good luck to you. I feel your pain, believe me! πŸ˜‰
    Oh, and one year to write a novel, especially a first novel, isn’t bad at all. Keep at it. You’ll discover that the next novel comes easier and faster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

