EMPTINESS ADRIFT

Falling like a snowflake,

melting in the spring

I pry my eyes wide open

to feel the familiar emptiness.

It’s in my heart

It’s in my conscious

Maybe it’s always been there.

Emptiness is all encompassing,

swallowing me whole like a snake

eating it’s first meal of the day.

It slithered into my life suddenly, or so that was how it seemed.

Perhaps it trickled in through little cracks, invisible entry,

a ship carrying emptiness adrift.

Emptiness is loneliness, numbness, hopelessness, darkness.

A resounding fall from a high mountain top

down into a pit of rock and gravel.

Scraped and broken, torn and bleeding.

I wasn’t prepared for this at all.

I wasn’t prepared to sink; to fall.

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by Pezibear

In honor of May being Mental Health Awareness Month.

via Daily Prompt: Adrift

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

2 thoughts on “EMPTINESS ADRIFT”

Leave a Reply

