MY MIND

In honor of May being Mental Health Awareness month, I was inspired to write this poem as my first Daily Prompt post.

My mind,

utterly numb and drained,

restless sleep

plaguing my being,

I descend into chaotic melancholy

that is depression

and anxiety.

The two devils sitting on my shoulder–

one screaming don’t care,

the other forcing worries into my ears

as fast as I can manage to breathe

during a panic attack.

Transparent and opaque,

complete opposite disorders

that wind so tightly together

like the threads of my jeans.

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by Pexels

via Daily Prompt: Descend

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

