IN HONOR OF MAY BEING MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS MONTH… ARE YOU VITAMIN DEFICIENT?

**I am not a doctor, so please don’t rely on this information completely – I’ve Googled as best as I can, plus added my own experience, so things may not be perfect!

I wanted to speak about something that’s not talked about enough: Vitamin deficiency.

If you’re struggling with mental health issues such as anxiety or depression, try asking your doctor about getting your blood tested to see if you’re deficient in anything.

Vitamin D is a big one that either can lead to or worsen depression.

But, this may be new to you… Have you heard of Brazil nuts? Those large ones that come in containers of mixed nuts? Yes, those. They contain an important mineral called Selenium. My hubby came upon a man named Tim Ferriss as a guest on a podcast who was sharing his story of depression and suicidal thoughts, and he brought up Brazil nuts. (Tim Ferriss has a podcast of his own and that’s here: http://tim.blog/podcast/)

So, as the sweet hubby that he is, he bought me a bag to try. I was reluctant, and I didn’t like the taste at all… But, I took one to two nuts a day for a week (or two), and I felt the best I have in a decade!

It was like I was taking an anti-depressant. I could not believe the difference in me! I wanted to wake up and spring out of bed each morning, I wanted to work on projects, I wanted to go outside, go out in public, and do all the things I couldn’t do in my deep, dark depression.

And there’s where the story ends.

Unfortunately, I still struggle with the deep, dark depression these days. The Brazil nuts seemed to stop working after those weeks, and I gave up. I should try them again. Or buy the supplement form of Selenium, since it comes that way, too.

If you’re not allergic to them, I’d do a little research and give Brazil nuts a shot. Much better than dealing with the side effects of a prescription anti-depressant. Be sure to only eat one or two nuts each day, as more than that is too much selenium intake. Plus, they’re on the pricier side, so the longer they last, the better — and another note, I’ve heard they should be refrigerated to stay good (personally, they tasted much worse to me when they were cold.)

I may write another post speaking about Mental Health Awareness month, but for now… below are some quotes to leave off on, because I find them so comforting, and I hope you do too.

I feel like part of depression and mental health is that we always compare ourselves to others and their lives, thinking they’re happy, complete, better off than us… This first quote is a good reminder that everyone has their own battles to face, and that things aren’t always what they seem:

“If we’re honest, most of us are doing okay.”
Craig Groeschel, Weird: Because Normal Isn’t Working

And a few more, for good measure. 🙂

“Every man has his secret sorrows which the world knows not; and often times we call a man cold when he is only sad.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Mental health and writing:

“Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.”
Stephen King (On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft)

Stay strong and have hope. ❤

“Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul
And sings the tune without the words
And never stops at all.”
Emily Dickinson

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by GerDukes

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

