YOU LIT UP EVERY ROOM

To someone that I’m part of, to someone that I miss. Dedicated to a family member. ❤

Strength, humor, wit, pure love and thoughtfulness–

That is only the beginning in describing your character.

I can’t imagine the pain you must have been in, but I know you were strong, and you taught everyone around you the beauty in that.

You always knew the answers to questions, so I hope you didn’t doubt yourself.

You had jokes all day long, and always made us laugh.

You raised a family well: instilling love, strength, perseverance, appreciation for life, the amazing talent of cooking.

You were so giving.

You made us feel special even when we surely didn’t feel like it.

The bantering between you and him was adorable, admirable. A long marriage, a happy family.

I wish we could have been much closer. What I did know, I loved. You are one of the strongest people I’ve ever known.

I have regrets about not being there for you enough, and I wish I could take that back. I hope you can understand the reasons why I wasn’t. I was living with my own illness, in my own world, but I should’ve reached out more.

I feel as if I still haven’t accepted you being gone, and I don’t know if I can. I worry it will be too hard; too real. We didn’t get to know each other well enough. How can I let you go, when you’re part of why I’m here?

How I wish you were still here and able to enjoy life, to be pain free…

To let the true you – the wonderful, always thinking of others you – be able to breathe freely.

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by Couleur

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

2 thoughts on “YOU LIT UP EVERY ROOM”

Leave a Reply

