PAIN REMEDIES FOR ENDOMETRIOSIS & ADENOMYOSIS PAIN

Well, I wasn’t planning on writing another post on my health/pain today, but I felt the need to due to how the day went.

Today, I had absolutely terrible pain – the kind that makes you want to scream and/or curse repeatedly. No matter which way I moved, I hurt. All I could manage was laying on my bed and watching Breaking Bad episodes I’ve already seen before. Eventually the pain faded and currently it’s at a dull ache.

I’ve not had children, but I’ve heard that Endometriosis/Adenomyosis pain can sometimes be comparable to labor pains, and in extreme cases of those diseases, sometimes even worse than labor… I was in such agony for those couple hours, I kept wondering, how on earth do women have children? Bravery, I tell you. I don’t know exactly what labor’s like, but I do know this pain. 😦

The pain consisted of cramping that ran down my legs and into my back – everything hurt, quite honestly.

One of the best remedies I’ve found is using my microwavable rice pillow. The heat really seems to calm the pain. The relief was slow today, but it did let up, thankfully.

The second thing that helps is this lotion I randomly found that’s similar to “Icy Hot”, a muscle relief cream. All I really know is that it has eucalyptus in it and it’s green.

“Some days, 24 hours is too much to stay put in, so I take the day hour by hour, moment by moment. I break the task, the challenge, the fear into small, bite-size pieces. I can handle a piece of fear, depression, anger, pain, sadness, loneliness, illness. I actually put my hands up to my face, one next to each eye, like blinders on a horse.”
-Regina Brett

I try not to rely on those two things too much because I know too much exposure to heating pads can cause permanent burns – and the lotion contains menthol, which isn’t good to use often.

The third thing I use is obvious and not really worth mentioning – pain medication. I usually take generic ibuprofen or Tylenol. These hardly help, which sucks. This is always the first thing a doctor asks me about, which is funny to me. Of course I’ve tried them! They simply aren’t enough.

The fourth thing I’ve been trying is taking a natural supplement called turmeric, an anti-inflammatory. I need to take it consistently, but it seems to slightly help reduce pain and bloating.

Just another day living with these monsters…

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by rtdisoho.

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

