WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR TIME?

I feel like everyone is short on time; there’s only 24 hours in the day. Around 8 of them are already allotted for sleeping and then other portions are taken throughout the day for necessary stuff like eating and bathroom breaks.

If you’re out and about, there’s typically lots of waiting at red lights, in traffic, waiting in lines.

What do you do with the extra time?

What do you do when you’re waiting in line?

Do you check your social media, read a book, listen to music, watch videos, enjoy the atmosphere around you, talk to others, text… what?

We should make better use of our time. The time that’s not dedicated to keeping our bodies running.

(I don’t mean saving time like speeding while driving, running red lights or passing cars – of course those are dangerous and don’t save very much time, if any. Neither am I talking about multi-tasking while driving, etc. Not things like that. I’m talking about the safe stuff you can easily fit into your life.)

Listening to podcasts, reading, watching videos, whatever suits you – absorbing information is a productive way to spend your downtime. Imagine if you did that every day… think of all the new skills you might learn!

I find when I get out of sync with writing (and I mean skipping one day), it throws me for a loop and I procrastinate on sitting down and writing again. I can definitely relate to the below quote…

“If you don’t write when you don’t have time for it, you won’t write when you do have time for it.”
Katerina Stoykova Klemer

So, it’s a bit late for a New Year’s resolution, but I guess this is mine: Use my time wisely. Work more efficiently. Save time for things that truly matter.

Don’t let my downfalls waste my time. Try to live a more scheduled life.

“There is only now. And look! How rich we are in it.”
Vanna Bonta, Shades Of The World

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by congerdesign

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

