YOU CAN’T BANDAGE MY PAIN

The room cold and sterile, you tell me the options I have for treatment.

One thing I’m scared of, and another, terrified.

How I wish you could understand my dilemma,

but at the end of the day,

you’ll be able to go home knowing you’ve helped people.

And you have helped, but not in the way I wish you could: curing me.

But, you won’t have to live with the side effects of the treatments you’ve prescribed,

only the complaints and tears next time I come in.

You won’t have to panic when something feels wrong,

trying to decide if you should go to the hospital,

questioning if it’s an emergency.

Doctor, sometimes I envy you.

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by congerdesign

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

One thought on “YOU CAN’T BANDAGE MY PAIN”

Leave a Reply

