LET IT FUEL YOU FORWARD, NOT BRING YOU DOWN

(As a note, I tried for ages to think of the right word for the title that I had in mind earlier… I thought it began with F like ‘Fuel’ and ‘Forward’, so I gave up and replaced it with ‘It’! Tired mind, indeed.)

Sympathy goes a long way. Understanding, even further.

I’ve encountered lack of understanding quite often throughout my times of struggle. I get it, most people can’t relate to being unable to live normally, unable to work. I completely get that.

That being said, sometimes (okay, all the time) it really brings me down and leaves me in a bad mood, and negativity isn’t productive, so it’s simply just a bad cycle (and definitely doesn’t help my motivation.)

When you’re feeling discouraged or unsupported, try to let your own passion fuel your drive to move forward in bettering and progressing your craft.

For instance, did someone say something insulting about the book you’ve been writing for the past few years? It hurts, I know. For example: “Why is it taking so long?”

Breathe. Take it in. Let it hurt, but then don’t let it hurt you. Don’t let it affect you negatively. Try to turn that negativity into positivity; into determination.

Learn from it. Constructive criticism is helpful in growing.

I’m not saying to go hurry to finish your book because you’re worried that it’s taking a long time (sheesh, it takes a long time to write!)

Basically, try to work hard on it with an extra dose of enthusiasm. 🙂

Today, for one of the first times, I tried to actually follow this approach, and there wasn’t a dark cloud following me around for the rest of the day.

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by FlashBuddy

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

