MONEY… EVERYTHING WHEN YOU’RE POOR, NOTHING WHEN YOU’RE RICH?

The idea of money when you’re poor is pretty magical, a fantasy… yet when you’re wealthy, it typically doesn’t mean as much. Purchasing something costly when you’re poor is a big deal, but when you don’t have as many money woes, well, it’s not so stressful.

So, this begs the question: Is it the other way around, too?

Wealth comes with its own issues: Keeping up with the Joneses. People leaching off you. People wanting to take advantage of you to try to get a piece of your pie. I don’t think it would be easy…

Being poor comes with problems, like… being poor. Not being able to afford basic necessities or “splurge” on little things here and there. I know it’s not easy. It’s darn hard. (I can’t say which way of life is easier or better because I’ve never been “comfortable”.)

Does money really make a person happy? Evidence of celebrities and/or successful people suffering with depression (while seemingly “having it all”), points to a big no.

I do not believe money solves your problems. Some, yes – of course.

But when you “have it all”, I think there’s a lot of pressure to be happy. “You’re rich, you have X, Y, and Z, so why are you so unhappy? So many people would kill to be in your shoes.”

You’ve reached the “top” of the mountain, yet your happiness meter is still stuck at the bottom. “I’ve come this far, yet I still feel empty.” Society ingrained in us that money is supposed to make you happy, right?

“Too many people spend money they haven’t earned, to buy things they don’t want, to impress people that they don’t like.”
Will Rogers

Depression can develop from bad circumstances, but not all “poor” people are depressed. I’ve heard that some of the happiest people in the world have little to nothing to their name. Appreciating life and not what you own can really make a big difference in your perspective.

Being broke myself, I know I’ve learned to appreciate the little things so much more, like buying a drink at the store when I’m thirsty, or buying that makeup I’ve been wanting. I feel really lucky to have learned this lesson. I live a more minimalist lifestyle, which is fine with me. I hate having a bunch of stuff I don’t use.

If I were ever make it to the “big leagues”, I’d be able to take it in with this gratefulness that would just make it that much better! (Nevertheless, I do complain about not having enough money, which I only assume is normal. Hmmph. I wish to complain less and enjoy more.)

“Everyone wants to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down.”
Oprah Winfrey

Possessions don’t lead to happiness. Money doesn’t equal happiness.

You might go broke, or lose your possessions. Then what?

The take-away here, I guess, is that money is great because it provides comfort, security, the ability to buy things without stressing about it. But it’s not all that.

If you’re broke, do the best with what you can, and maybe one day it won’t be so hard. On bad days it’s hard to feel this way, for sure… Trust me. Learning to live with less is a worthy experience.

Here are a couple more quotes, cause who doesn’t love a bunch of quotes thrown into a post?

“Top 15 Things Money Can’t Buy
Time. Happiness. Inner Peace. Integrity. Love. Character. Manners. Health. Respect. Morals. Trust. Patience. Class. Common sense. Dignity.”
Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

“This planet has – or rather had – a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movement of small green pieces of paper, which was odd because on the whole it wasn’t the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.”
Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by ejaugsburg

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

