IF YOU WANT TO EXPERIENCE AN EMOTIONAL ROLLER COASTER, WRITE A BOOK

If you really want to test yourself, write a novel. Novel: a longer book that ranges from 75,000-120,000 words (another source claimed 60,000-100,000 words), depending on font choices. 

I went into the process of writing my first (and current) novel with the sole intent of writing a novel, just to see if I could accomplish it. I was so happy when I hit that 80,000th word! (since that’s what I thought to be the definition of a novel at the time.)

Here’s what I did, and didn’t, expect…

  • You’ll feel a sense of joy and accomplishment when the words are flowing so freely, when you’re in your “zone” – that wonderful time when you feel like a true writer… those moments are the best. An amazing feeling that will make you want to write more. An addition, almost.
  • Reading is an important aspect of the writing process. Try to get your hands on as many books as possible to soak up inspiration – but be sure to make your writing yours. Explore different voices, tones, and perspectives, then find your own voice. Reading others’ work really helped to inspire me to want to write my own thing. I felt like, “Wow, this is written so well. I want to try to write something that feels so real, so relatable, so intriguing.”

And then there are the hardships…

  • You’ll want to pull your hair out. Maybe it’s just me, but I prefer to put much more of my focus on the writing part and not the actual plot? I mean, the plot definitely matters, but I’m more of a writer than a logistics person, so figuring out what should happen exactly when and where and with who, and all of that bookish stuff – well, it’s stressful. Especially because I want it to be “just right.” (Try not to let perfection wreak havoc on your creativity.)
  • “Love you, love you not.” You’ll love your book one minute, hate it the next. Your feelings about what you’ve written yesterday will probably change (and yes, sometimes for the better!)
  • Re-writing is the worst. One thing I’ve been doing is keeping a document where I can paste worthy sentences/paragraphs that I’m removing from my novel, just in case I do want to use them – especially if it’s a unique phrasing or some such. I don’t want to just delete that hard work. Perhaps it might even come in handy for another future story… who knows!
  • Formatting sucks. Period!
  • There was something else, but it seems I’ve forgotten what it is now…

And that’s just my experience writing a novel thus far. Maybe I’ll write an updated post when it actually gets done…

Here’s a great quote to leave off on.

“Who is better off? The one who writes to revel in the voluptuousness of the life that surrounds them? Or the one who writes to escape the tediousness of that which awaits them outside? Whose flame will last longer?”
Roman Payne

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by Unsplash

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

4 thoughts on “IF YOU WANT TO EXPERIENCE AN EMOTIONAL ROLLER COASTER, WRITE A BOOK”

Leave a Reply

