CHEERING UP WITH COMEDY – A REMEDY FOR DEPRESSION?

I’ve been writing such mopey posts lately…

How about some comedy? Or at least acknowledging it, since I’m not a very humorous person (maybe I could work on that…)

I know sometimes when I’m truly down in the dumps with my depression (that is putting it very lightly), I like putting on a Netflix comedy special or two and letting the laughter which has been drained out of me, come out again.

I’m sure my body appreciates some lightheartedness after all the serious stuff. It’s nice to just feel my body laughing out of control. It’s nice not to feel numb or still for once.

How interesting it is to note the commonality of comedians dealing with depression. How comedy brings them relief, as well as providing an outlet to make others feel better. After all, laughter is pretty infectious.

My favorite comedian right now would probably be Jim Gaffigan. His food bits are super funny, but his attitude is what’s funniest to me. I’m sure it’s an act, but his negative tone and view on the world is so relatable. It makes me feel slightly better that everything isn’t sunshine and rainbows.

I haven’t the slightest idea why that notion can be funny; how it can look funny from an outsiders’ perspective to be a miserable person. Living a difficult life isn’t funny. I like to try to find little hidden bits of humor in things – this is much easier said after the fact – but in the moment, it’s not all that natural to acknowledge that something is “funny.” That a hardship can have any humor to it…

Maybe this quote has to do with it?

β€œThe greater the artist, the greater the doubt. Perfect confidence is granted to the less talented as a consolation prize.”

[Modernism’s Patriarch (Time Magazine, June 10, 1996)]”
― Robert Hughes

Who is your favorite comedian, and why? Does comedy help you?

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by RyanMcGuire

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

2 thoughts on “CHEERING UP WITH COMEDY – A REMEDY FOR DEPRESSION?”

Leave a Reply

