I DON’T HAVE A LOW PAIN TOLERANCE… I HAVE LOW TOLERANCE OF CONSTANTLY BEING IN PAIN

Okay, so there’s no way, there’s no scale to judge people’s pain in relation to each other; there isn’t a test that shows just how much pain you’re in. (Not that I’m aware of…)

Comparing your pain levels to someone elses’ is pretty futile, as a result.

I’m writing this because of all the heartache that I’ve experienced as a patient who didn’t know what was wrong.

I’m writing this as a woman who didn’t know how, and couldn’t, speak up about her pain, or defend herself when she was dismissed as a waste of her doctor’s time.

“You’re healthy” and “You’re normal” were phrases I heard way too often.

Having mental health issues on top of physical ones, oh, that for sure didn’t help. My pains were tossed off to anxiety side effects, and/or to being a hypochondriac. (I would not be in the doctor’s office if it wasn’t serious, if I wasn’t desperate for relief. I’m sure many of you feel the same.)

I’m writing this for all of those who haven’t received a diagnosis yet, who don’t know how to manage in the meantime; who don’t know where, or who, to turn to next.

I’m writing this because it’s unfair, and lonely, and difficult.

I’m writing this because it’s flowing freely from my fingertips.

I hope as you’re reading this, you can find some solace, peace, and answers.

TMTF (tired mind typing fingers)

Photo via Pixabay

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

