“EXPERIENCE NEEDED” – THE FRUSTRATION OF SEARCHING FOR A WORK FROM HOME JOB

I’m probably not the only one who has zilch experience or a college degree… right?

So just now, as I was browsing a blog based on making money from home, every single job offer said those dreaded words of mine: “experience needed”…

(I know that applies to “traditional” jobs too, of course, but in this post I’ll be focusing on the online job market.)

Now… I don’t do this search often because I know how dim the prospects are for someone like me, yet whenever I do decide to search, I get disappointed all over again. Ridiculous.

I understand the need for experienced, seasoned employees completely. Businesses need the best of the best, the most educated candidates… That’s just obvious business 101.

Personally, I think it’s possible to become experienced without a degree, but that’s just me. That’s not to say that a degree doesn’t have value. If you’ve studied something for years and graduated at the end, you probably deserve to get first dibs!

…but, I believe there’s a lot of value in taking upon learning something yourself; the alternative to college. Why? 1. I can’t go that route, and 2. because I don’t really want to. I just don’t know if it’s “for me” – I know this because I tried and dropped out.

One of the amazing qualities of the internet is the fact that “nobodies” can become “somebodies”, and by that, I mean earning a living of some kind – I do not mean you’re a nobody if you don’t have money, money should not define people. You know what I mean, I hope.

Many people with degrees which can be easily done from home (such as technology, bookkeeping, writing) want to work from home, and I 100% understand that desire. You should be able to work from home with the degree you earned.

I usually imagine the internet to be more of a playground, where things are open to anybody to try to pursue. I know there are many platforms including WordPress that offer that “playground”. So, perhaps that’s just an idealistic view. You can’t be a doctor without a medical degree.

What I’m generally looking for when I search for online positions are writing gigs, editing, data entry, basically anything along those lines. I’m not sure if I’ll completely give up the search just yet… It would be nice to branch out and manage this blog while making a reliable income elsewhere, or vice versa. I know it’s so early to think about that, but early birds do get the worm. (A little late to the blogging party? Yeah…)

Anyway, this is basically the reason why I began writing here. The options out there in the inter-webs are so limited without any/much experience. This seems to ring true even for those with experience because it’s already flooded with other qualified candidates. Overall the job market is flooded with people – period – making it extremely hard to find something no matter what… (Do I have anything to complain about, then?)

I’ve discovered a few hopeful companies that claim to offer anybody a chance, but I haven’t managed to find many of them at all. I’ve yet to complete and turn in the applications, which is totally on me. Everything is. The concept is a bit depressing altogether.

Depression causes lack of energy, motivation and hope, thus leading to being unproductive, leading to more depression, leading to more depression… A constant, unproductive, dark cycle of nothingness.

The side effects of depression just seem to feed the “depression troll”, if you will. This isn’t including the other issues I deal with, like chronic physical pain.

Sometimes I want to just cry and scream:

It’s not fair!

It’s not worth it!

I’ll never make money, I’ll be broke forever, I’ll never have anything of my own.

I just want to make money, even if it’s a tiny bit. Anything would be better than nothing!

I often feel those ways when asked about these things by those around me. The common misconception of those with chronic illnesses who are unable to work, is that it’s a choice, that it’s a choice from laziness. I don’t know about you, but that is not the case at all for me and many like me. Who doesn’t want a productive, meaningful, career and life they enjoy?

Oh, how embarrassing it is to try to explain my situation. Summed up: No, I can’t work or attend college. Yes, I want to make money. Silence ensues when they dig deeper because I can’t and don’t want to go into the details. It’s my situation, my sucky, hopeless situation. The situation is simply embarrassing enough.

Those negative statements are counterproductive thinking, though sometimes necessary venting. I know that being productive is better. I know I should try to write a little bit every day. If I never earn a dime writing, at least I can say I have written. As an aspiring writer, that matters.

I guess if you can’t find a way, you have to try to make one. There isn’t any other way.

I felt the need to add an inspirational quote to end this post off with. I need just a little inspiration myself… 😉

“You never know what’s around the corner. It could be everything. Or it could be nothing. You keep putting one foot in front of the other, and then one day you look back and you’ve climbed a mountain.”
Tom Hiddleston

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by FirmBee

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

