JUNK FOOD FOR THE MIND & THE IMPORTANCE OF READING AND STORY TELLING

Junk food is so satisfying, especially when it meets that certain craving you’ve been longing for.

Sweet, salty, high in fat and calories.

Frozen treats. Baked. Fried.

Ice cream, pie, french fries. Oh my!

There’s junk food for the body, but also junk food for the mind…

I tend to watch a lot of TV. Sinking into the cushion and blanket watching mindlessly, particularly while I’m sunk in deep depression and/or pain episodes. TV is a distraction, but sometimes it can put me in a negative mood because it’s difficult not to compare the lives of the characters to my own. Which is stupid, I know. It’s a written script, with people pretending to be someone they’re not.

I think watching TV might be considered junk food. Not solely. But what does it really do for us? It passes the time, tells us a story – yes, I get that. There are some gems that exist.

Reality shows, movies without much substance. Sometimes you need to tune out to those sort of things, like background music as you daydream.

Documentaries teach us things, so I suppose that’s “brain food”.

I think my brain food is definitely reading and writing. You might be familiar with this quote:

“After nourishment, shelter and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.”
Philip Pullman

I think that is true. Stories, books, writing them… they teach us lessons and meaningful messages. Though, even when it’s just a “beach read”, for simple entertainment purposes, reading is good exercise for the brain.

I worry reading is becoming sort of lost in society. I know there are many bloggers and readers of those blogs – I hope that doesn’t go away. I hope people continue to read a lot and write a lot.

“Imagination is like a muscle. I found out that the more I wrote, the bigger it got.”
Philip José Farmer

Even on a tablet/e-reader, that definitely counts as reading in my opinion. Tablets are basically miracles for those who love a good selection of books! Mine broke after a year, so I have to use the Kindle reader on my falling-apart-laptop (I need to use things for as long as possible because I can’t afford any other way.)

Podcasts and audio books count, too. Listening to someone else’s story, learning from them, supporting writers and content creators, all is really so important.

What’s the “junk food” in your life? What’s your “brain food”?

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by Meditations

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

