WHY I’M GRATEFUL FOR THE INTERNET AS AN ASPIRING WRITER

(I wrote this a few days ago before my current flare-up, so since it was already mostly done, thought I’d go ahead and post it today.)

THE GOOD

It’s a pretty interesting thing, all the opportunities the internet gives us. The internet has actually changed my life in some big ways (like meeting hubby.) πŸ˜€

As for making money… just to name a few, there’s blogging, Youtube, Ebay. Lots of people are making a living by combining their skills and passions, using the internet as their platform. It has created millionaires, billionaires even. That sounds scary and exciting, doesn’t it? The pressure to try it out, the possibility of failing. Don’t enter it solely thinking about the money; enter it thinking about doing what you love. Money is the bonus, the best after-thought, the result of hard work and building a supportive audience. Even for those like me without the ability to get a job, I know it’s not realistic to focus solely on making money. Money is definitely a huge factor why I want to write, of course. But it has to be more than that.

THE BAD

Of course, then there are the pitfalls of the web. The trolls, hackers, privacy concerns, over-saturation of people trying to make a buck. The annoying ads. Social media has its disadvantages, but for those trying to market themselves, social media is a serious boost! Without it, I don’t know if there would be nearly as many successful online entrepreneurs because of the connectivity it provides.

A quote that makes you ponder the internet’s intentions…

β€œEvery good writer I know needs to go into some deep, quiet place to do work that is fully imagined. And what the Internet brings is lots of vulgar data. It is the antithesis of the imagination. It leaves nothing to the imagination.”
― Jonathan Franzen

HELLO, PROFESSOR INTERNET.

The internet is a great learning tool, as long as you use it efficiently. You can take advantage of the bountiful resources to grow as an individual, student (did you know that there are free college courses offered online? They usually don’t end in a degree, but you can still learn a lot and, sometimes, they’re even taken seriously. I tried recently to see how my motivation could hold up and inevitably I ended up quitting, but there were no repercussions since I didn’t owe any tuition), and to grow as an entrepreneur.

I’ve been able to read books that I otherwise wouldn’t have had access to, like free indie Kindle books. I discovered some truly awesome ones, which helped inspire me to write my own novel.

WHICH PATH DO I TAKE?

I’m trying to keep my mind open with the various paths that include writing, starting with the one thing that interests me the most and feels most doable when I don’t have much energy – right now that’s blogging. Blogging seems to open up a lot of doors.

Because quotes can be super inspiring, I wanted to include one in this post. A quick search for “quotes about making money writing” actually led to an interesting blog post at The Write Life, a writing blog, on how to sell things on Etsy as a writer (I like the idea of creating digital items that you don’t need to literally ship out – still seems like a difficult prospect for me when contrasted with blogging, but I’ll try to keep it in mind.) I was looking for a bit of inspiration and I got it in that unexpected way. See? That’s what’s great about the internet.

This is the type of thinking that I’m trying to express:

“Don’t put all your eggs in one basket.

Don’t concentrate all your prospects or resources in one thing or place, or you could lose everything.” -Dictionary.com

Open your eyes, your browser, your wings… search writing blogs, writing job boards, writing forums, “the front page of the internet” a.k.a. Reddit. Start a blog and write whatever you want to! The true challenge is starting and persisting; picking the “right” career path. Maybe it’s not so much about getting it right from the start… The notion that you might not get it perfectly, the way you see it in your head, is what’s most discouraging. Start one and see where it leads you. If you just start, then you can see.

(I’m writing this advice as much to you as I am for myself…)

Here are some more ideas for writers, besides blogging:

  • greeting card sayings
  • jingles or slogans
  • freelancing/writing for an established site or blog (including guest posting)
  • publishing your short story or novel
  • ghost writing: selling your writing to someone else. You don’t get credit for it so your name won’t be on it, you simply get paid.
  • copywriting: basically, I believe it has to do with writing advertisements/marketing, and may also include writing lyrics for jingles, taglines, etc. I hear it can pay extremely well. Β  Β 

The opportunities are endless. So why does it feel like searching for a needle in a haystack? How can I create something unique, entertaining, meaningful, worthy of others’ time? How do I make a product that sells, when I can’t even sell myself? How can you be successful when you feel too sick to keep a regular schedule?

Lastly, here is an inspirational quote I finally found:

β€œAny man who keeps working is not a failure. He may not be a great writer, but if he applies the old-fashioned virtues of hard, constant labor, he’ll eventually make some kind of career for himself as writer.”

― Ray Bradbury

-tmtf

Photo from Pixabay.com, by fancycrave1

 

 

Author: tiredmindtypingfingers

Writing about writing and chronic illness, and trying to make something out of it.

Leave a Reply

